HardierLime.com

Life Lessons and Lactation Cookies for New Moms

Follow Ups March 15, 2011

Filed under: baby,weight loss journey — hardierlime @ 3:50 am

My Daughter:

We will be going for her pre-op appointment tomorrow, her surgery will be on Wednesday, and her post-op will be on Friday. Those who do, please pray. Those who don’t, good thoughts, vibes, etc. are appreciated as well. Thank you.

My Son:

He is three weeks old today, and is doing great. We’re starting with some tummy time, and just enjoying each other’s company. That is when he isn’t being a bottomless pit. I kid, but there are at least 3-4 hours a day where I’m sure he’ll never finish eating. And then he’ll sleep for 4-5 hours and then go back to a 3 hour cycle. Until he wants to eat for 3-4 hours again. What’s odd is that it isn’t at night, like most books say. Its usually in the afternoon. Guess he didn’t read the books.

My Weight Loss:

I got as low as 223 last week and then I think I fought off mastitis. Chills, fever, pain. I stayed in bed all day even though I felt like I had a lot I wanted to do. When I got back on the scale, I was horrified to see it had gone back up to 228. I’ve been paying a little more attention to my intake, and my “official” post-partum starting weight, as of today is 225.

That’s 23 pounds down from day of delivery, and 80 away from where I want to end up. As I mentioned in a previous post, I’d like to be 200 when I return to work. Less would be nice, but we’ll see. I’ve got 10 weeks to get there.

Today, I also started actually exercising too. I unfolded the treadmill, and hopped on wearing my new Sketchers Shape-Ups. 20 minutes at 2.0mph @ 1% incline. I completed 2/3 of a mile and was sweating at the 17 minute mark.

When I was in high school, I was able to complete a mile in under 8 minutes. Will I get there again? I’d like to think so. I was able to complete a 5K two years ago in 43 minutes. Not the fastest time ever, but decent. So I know I have it in me to push harder. I just need to take it slow. I know I’m still healing.

 

Leave a Reply

