HardierLime.com

Life Lessons and Lactation Cookies for New Moms

What am I doing differently this time around? April 22, 2011

Filed under: active parenting,baby,not crunchy,weight loss journey — hardierlime @ 10:04 pm

This post was inspired by this post over at attachmentparenting.org about Resolutions for Baby #2. This is also somewhat in the vein of my previous posts about how we’re doing on broad topics.

I must preface this with the statement that I am NOT THAT CRUNCHY. I weigh things and prioritize, and do what feels and works best.

1. I am holding the baby more. My daughter, from her first night on this earth, preferred to be left alone to settle herself rather than be picked up and consoled. As she gets older, she still picks and chooses when she wants our comfort. So, I did not get to hold her as much as many 1st time moms hold their babies.

Also, this is my last baby. This pregnancy was hard on me physically, and I’ve always had a stance about a dependent-child free retirement. Since we’ll get there in 25 years (going by my husband’s age and the minimum retirement age in the U.S.) I think we have a comfortable buffer zone. If we waited a decent amount of time to have another, not only for my health and for good spacing, we’d not only be falling into age related issues in conceiving, we’d also run into the retirement zone.

So, as sad as I am about not having more (because when I was younger, I wanted LOTS), I’m content with two. But I am clinging ferociously to every moment of our time together. I’m making sure to imprint in my mind every new thing he does. I am appreciating my maternity leave not only because of getting to spend time with my son, but because I get to spend a ton of time with my daughter. I wouldn’t miss any of it.

But I am holding the baby more. Because they’re only this little for so long. And then they grow up before you know it.

2. Exclusively breastfeeding. There were many reasons why I exclusively pumped for my daughter, and I worried about not being able to breastfeed again this time around. I still have had to pump for bottles here and there, but over 8 weeks in and I don’t see us stopping until its time to wean. I even have a bit of milk saved up in the freezer, but nowhere near as much as I had with my daughter.

For my daughter I pumped for two years, and started Baby-Led Weaning at about 5.5 months so that I could be adherent to the WHO’s recommendation of exclusively breastfeeding until 6 months, and then having my milk be a significant portion of her nutrition until a year and a good contributor through her second year.

For my son, I plan to do the same. IF he weans in his second year through no intervention on my part, I’d be sad, but we’ll see.

Ok, so I don’t have seven, but for her list, I was able to stick to most of those the first time around.

Ok, stats.

Baby boy:

Birth: 7lbs, 15oz. 20″

Two months: 11lbs 14oz. 22″

Me:

Delivery: 248lbs

Today: 215lbs

The weight loss is slowing down, but its steady. I need to step it up if I want clothes to wear when I return to work next month though. :)

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 956 other followers